Teams decided for 2009/10 La Liga

June 14, 2009

Tenerife, Real Zaragoza and Xerez made it into the first division after the second division season finished last night. They replace Betis, Numancia and Recreativo de Huelva who failed to escape relegation.

CD Tenerife’s main claim to fame is goes back to 1992 and 93 when they bean Real Madrid in the last match of the season, not only escaping relegation, but also handing the title to FC Barcelona; the same occured in the following year, although on that occasion they finished 5th in the league and played in the UEFA Cup, losing to Juventus.

Real Zaragoza is rejoining the top league after a single season in the second division. Previously they had been in the first division since 2003/04, while Xerez is joining the first division for the first time in its history.


Categorised in:

Comments are closed here.